Block ein- oder ausblenden

Vyberte si jazyk

Český English Français Deutsch Italiano Polski РУССКИЙ

How to show a terrain that is slanting?

Q/A about D-Wall, D-Roof, D-Floor/ Ceiling, D-CAM
Odpovědět na témaOdpovědět na téma Vytisknout stránku
Jdi na stránku 1, 2  Další

How to show a terrain that is slanting?

Odeslat Zaslal: 21.02.2007 14:50

On a model of a house I would like to show the ground. That could I easy do with a ceiling with grass texture.

But in this case the ground has a slope. So how to do that? The model of the house is only a model - no timbers inside walls etc.

Maybe I could use roof calculation? But then the "roof" would cut the bottom of my walls in the basement...
_________________
Sincerely Yours. M. Sc. E. Thorvald, Denmark
(Dietrichs version 7.03).

Thorvald
Tera Poster
Tera Poster
 
Příspěvky: 1063
Založen: Aug 16, 2006

Re: How to show a terrain that is slanting?

Odeslat Zaslal: 21.02.2007 15:33

You have Dicam, haven't you!?
You can change the properties of any part Cool
_________________
Freundlich grüßt
Der_Planer

Der_Planer
Power-Experte
Power-Experte
 
Příspěvky: 10351
Založen: Aug 24, 2004
Bydliště: 51143 Köln

Re: How to show a terrain that is slanting?

Odeslat Zaslal: 22.02.2007 09:50

But - I cannot see the houses in DiCam - they are only shell models without timbers inside.

.... Oooooh yes I can see the house also in D-Cam, I just have to check slice panels and wall volumes on in "Display Style". Wink

Ok - so far so good. How did you make your grass "boards"? As ceiling calculation or?
_________________
Sincerely Yours. M. Sc. E. Thorvald, Denmark
(Dietrichs version 7.03).

Thorvald
Tera Poster
Tera Poster
 
Příspěvky: 1063
Založen: Aug 16, 2006

Re: How to show a terrain that is slanting?

Odeslat Zaslal: 22.02.2007 10:31

Ok - I think I found out now - I can make the areas as ceiling areas and afterwards I can rotate it in D-Cam. Or I can define areas in D-cam as well as "constant sections" and rotate them.
_________________
Sincerely Yours. M. Sc. E. Thorvald, Denmark
(Dietrichs version 7.03).

Thorvald
Tera Poster
Tera Poster
 
Příspěvky: 1063
Založen: Aug 16, 2006

Re: How to show a terrain that is slanting?

Odeslat Zaslal: 22.02.2007 11:48

You can use any free Dicam beam for this purpose. Using a ceiling is no good idea as the rotation disappears when you recalculate the building.
_________________
Freundlich grüßt
Der_Planer

Der_Planer
Power-Experte
Power-Experte
 
Příspěvky: 10351
Založen: Aug 24, 2004
Bydliště: 51143 Köln

Re: How to show a terrain that is slanting?

Odeslat Zaslal: 22.02.2007 13:23

But the advantage of using ceiling is, that the ground is cut correctly around the house. If having many different slopes - yes it is a great disadvantage, that the slopes are set to 0 if the building is recalculated.
_________________
Sincerely Yours. M. Sc. E. Thorvald, Denmark
(Dietrichs version 7.03).

Thorvald
Tera Poster
Tera Poster
 
Příspěvky: 1063
Založen: Aug 16, 2006

Re: How to show a terrain that is slanting?

Odeslat Zaslal: 23.02.2007 00:57

You can make the entire grass area and then do a hard soft cutting to remove the house footprint from the grass areas....
_________________
Jim Rogers
Dietrich's North America
Consulting and Training
Georgetown, MA, USA

Version 13.04, 12.03, 11.06, 10.02, 9.05, 8.04, 7.03, and 5.05

Jim Rogers
Super Extrem Poster
Super Extrem Poster
 
Příspěvky: 331
Založen: Jul 21, 2004

Re: How to show a terrain that is slanting?

Odeslat Zaslal: 23.02.2007 02:00

This is one clients Project.He get's all the surveyors digital map and he inputs the shape and heigths.
_________________
Wil Dancey Dietrich's NA

Wil Dancey
Moderator
Moderator
 
Příspěvky: 80
Založen: Aug 31, 2004
Bydliště: Aylmer-Ontario-Canada

Re: How to show a terrain that is slanting?

Odeslat Zaslal: 28.02.2007 12:02

That is also one way to do it - with many horizontal "plates". I was thinking about that also - maybe later I will do it in that way, if I am asked to make detailed 3D models.

One thing I could ask about: How in Dietrisch to make a model with more than one house? Normally there is only one house in each position.
_________________
Sincerely Yours. M. Sc. E. Thorvald, Denmark
(Dietrichs version 7.03).

Thorvald
Tera Poster
Tera Poster
 
Příspěvky: 1063
Založen: Aug 16, 2006

Re: How to show a terrain that is slanting?

Odeslat Zaslal: 28.02.2007 12:59

Hi Thorvald,

you can construct several houses in one position. The only problem is that (at the moment) we cannot distinguish between different roofs. So all roofs are going to be called "roof 1".

In the near future, we are going to have a new function "building libraries". With this function, you will be able to copy complete buildings (or parts of a building) into a library and insert it into a different position.

Best regards,

Jens

Jens Krause
Hyper-Poster
Hyper-Poster
 
Příspěvky: 2079
Založen: Mar 01, 2005
Bydliště: Neubiberg

Re: How to show a terrain that is slanting?

Odeslat Zaslal: 28.02.2007 13:07

No problem,

just make a new ground beside the existing, new walls, new roofs, and your village will soon be visable Smile
_________________
Freundlich grüßt
Der_Planer

Der_Planer
Power-Experte
Power-Experte
 
Příspěvky: 10351
Založen: Aug 24, 2004
Bydliště: 51143 Köln

Re: How to show a terrain that is slanting?

Odeslat Zaslal: 16.03.2007 14:01

Jim Rogers:
You can make the entire grass area and then do a hard soft cutting to remove the house footprint from the grass areas....

It doesn't work and the grass don't look like grass - what is going wrong??
_________________
Sincerely Yours. M. Sc. E. Thorvald, Denmark
(Dietrichs version 7.03).

Thorvald
Tera Poster
Tera Poster
 
Příspěvky: 1063
Založen: Aug 16, 2006

Re: How to show a terrain that is slanting?

Odeslat Zaslal: 16.03.2007 21:33

Hi Thorvald,

the grass area cannot be devided into several parts, because there are some edges that prevent the division. So shorten the grass area about 10 cm, then do the hard-soft-cutting, and then lengthen again. Delete the separated inside part.

It doesn't look like grass: mouse middle click, volume info, change the texture to grass.
For further buildings, change the preferences in building data, they are really "grey".

If you prefer better looking grass you can take it from my homepage and replace it in your gif-folder Smile
_________________
Freundlich grüßt
Der_Planer

Der_Planer
Power-Experte
Power-Experte
 
Příspěvky: 10351
Založen: Aug 24, 2004
Bydliště: 51143 Köln

Re: How to show a terrain that is slanting?

Odeslat Zaslal: 16.03.2007 22:01

I made a copy of your sloping grass and moved yours out. I then created two blocks the size of your building outline and did a hard-soft cutting of the building through the grass. Then I deleted the two blocks, and it worked this way.
If you look at the object texture set in 2-0-8 you'll see I have it set for grass.
I hope this helps you.
_________________
Jim Rogers
Dietrich's North America
Consulting and Training
Georgetown, MA, USA

Version 13.04, 12.03, 11.06, 10.02, 9.05, 8.04, 7.03, and 5.05

Jim Rogers
Super Extrem Poster
Super Extrem Poster
 
Příspěvky: 331
Založen: Jul 21, 2004

Re: How to show a terrain that is slanting?

Odeslat Zaslal: 17.03.2007 13:46

Ok - thanks for your answers - I will see later if I can make it work. I have finished the house for presentation (using ceiling areas for the grass etc.). I am going to make more versions of it so here I could delete just the slanting part and try again in D-cam.

Thank you Der_planner, I will possibly try to use your texture.

Smile
_________________
Sincerely Yours. M. Sc. E. Thorvald, Denmark
(Dietrichs version 7.03).

Thorvald
Tera Poster
Tera Poster
 
Příspěvky: 1063
Založen: Aug 16, 2006
Zobrazit příspěvky z předchozích:   
Odpovědět na témaOdpovědět na téma Strana 1 z 2 Jdi na stránku 1, 2  Další

Timber Design Modules

Přejdi na:  



Nemůžete odesílat nové téma do tohoto fóra
Nemůžete odpovídat na témata v tomto fóru
Nemůžete upravovat své příspěvky v tomto fóru
Nemůžete mazat své příspěvky v tomto fóru
Nemůžete hlasovat v tomto fóru
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Časy uváděny v GMT + 1 hodina