Toggle on or off

Main Menue

Select Language

Český English Français Deutsch Italiano Polski РУССКИЙ

Users on Tour

The first North American Journey Man

Read the diary blog of
Chris Koehn

Notch with #4 Process

Q/A about D-Wall, D-Roof, D-Floor/ Ceiling, D-CAM
Reply to topicReply to topic Printer Friendly Page

Notch with #4 Process

Post Posted: 21.07.2006 00:54

Is there a way to make a notch all the way through the larger beam with a #4 process on the smaller beam in the attached picture?
_________________
Jason Kilmartin
Dietrich's N.A

Jason
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 520
Joined: Feb 02, 2005
Location: Vernon, B.C. Canada

Re: Notch with #4 Process

Post Posted: 21.07.2006 03:26

I don't know what a #4 process means, but there is a way: you can set the tenon as wide as the smaller beam, then create a tenon with a length of 50 cm. Explode the notch in the larger beam and delete the tenon of the small one. Perhaps there would be a better method? For single use you can do it this way.
_________________
Freundlich grüßt
Der_Planer

Der_Planer
Power-Experte
Power-Experte
 
Posts: 9616
Joined: Aug 24, 2004
Location: 55218 Ingelheim

Re: Notch with #4 Process

Post Posted: 21.07.2006 09:44

Hi Jason

If by a #4 process you mean the Notch command then you can do it but it is, like Planer's solution, a bit long winded.

Set the beam creating the notch to 5mm inside the back face of the beam you want the notch in. Create the notch in the usual way, picking an edge on the end of the beam creating the notch.

After the process is created, just edit it and increase its depth to equal the width of the beam. The square hole will then pass all the way through the beam.

Hope this helps

Rob

Rob Cullen
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 346
Joined: Jul 21, 2004
Location: Buntingford, England

Re: Notch with #4 Process

Post Posted: 21.07.2006 18:46

Thanks for the reply guys,

Both ways would work as a manual function. My problem is that I have many notches to make and I wish I did not have to edit every process to make the notch all the way through the beam.

If the notch does not go all the way through the beam I can transfer the process to the small beam as a #4 notch. Now I can activate all my larger beams and select "3,1,9 reprocess". This way all the notches are finished in one mouse click. I only with that I could do this so the notch goes all the way through the beam.

Thanks again,
_________________
Jason Kilmartin
Dietrich's N.A

Jason
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 520
Joined: Feb 02, 2005
Location: Vernon, B.C. Canada

Re: Notch with #4 Process

Post Posted: 21.07.2006 19:32

Hi Jason

Are you doing these for processing on a machine. If not why don't you just do them as booleans?

Just a thought.....

Rob

Rob Cullen
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 346
Joined: Jul 21, 2004
Location: Buntingford, England

Re: Notch with #4 Process

Post Posted: 21.07.2006 19:42

Hi Rob,

Yes, all these notches are going to the machine.

When you say booleans do you mean 2,7,1 intersecting volumes?
_________________
Jason Kilmartin
Dietrich's N.A

Jason
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 520
Joined: Feb 02, 2005
Location: Vernon, B.C. Canada

Re: Notch with #4 Process

Post Posted: 21.07.2006 20:28

Hi Jason

Yes, that was what I had in mind. However if you use the notch command and position the beam you use to create the notch just 1mm away from the bottom face of the beam which is receiving the notch then I am sure the machine is not going to leave a 1mm sliver.

OK it wont show up in OpenGL, but at least it would get the job done.

I tried using the notch command and increasing the depth in the command by 1mm, but it doesn't work.

Looks like we have another one for the wish list. Have a great weekend.

Rob

Rob Cullen
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 346
Joined: Jul 21, 2004
Location: Buntingford, England

Re: Notch with #4 Process

Post Posted: 24.07.2006 09:55

Hi Jason,

did you try and create a SmartTag using the "Notch" function. You could make it variable depending on the dimensions of the male beam.

Best regards,

Jens

Jens Krause
Hyper-Poster
Hyper-Poster
 
Posts: 2079
Joined: Mar 01, 2005
Location: Neubiberg

Re: Notch with #4 Process

Post Posted: 28.07.2006 12:11

Hi Jens

Smart Tag is not a good idea. The max depth of notch must be smaller then thickness of material.
What do you think about transfering process (base on yours tutorial "Advanced CAD with Dietrich's ..." p.7 - it is possible to transfer notch (4006,3)), I can not repeat it Sad .
My idea is to create a notch 3-8-4, modify it (the depth) and transfer throught a "ghost beam".

Regard
Lenio

Piotr Len
Intern
Intern
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mar 02, 2005
Location: Stara Wieś

Re: Notch with #4 Process

Post Posted: 22.11.2006 18:09

Yes, to avoid a notch that is deeper than the beam width, you would have to create a "double notch" that penetrates from both sides of the beam to the center of the beam.
_________________
Grüße aus Neubiberg,

Jens Krause

Dietrich's AG

Jens Krause
Hyper-Poster
Hyper-Poster
 
Posts: 2079
Joined: Mar 01, 2005
Location: Neubiberg

Re: Notch with #4 Process

Post Posted: 23.11.2006 02:33

Can that be done?
I haven't tried it.
_________________
Jim Rogers
Dietrich's North America
Consulting and Training
Georgetown, MA, USA

Version 13.04, 12.03, 11.06, 10.02, 9.05, 8.04, 7.03, and 5.05

Jim Rogers
Super Extrem Poster
Super Extrem Poster
 
Posts: 331
Joined: Jul 21, 2004
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

Timber Design Modules

Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

All times are GMT + 1 Hour